FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
September 19, 2024, 11:12:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Help with identification of radio  (Read 821 times)
Jolls
nsw-club

Model: FC

View Profile
« on: August 06, 2024, 05:54:00 PM »

Hi Team

I have located what I believe is an original Air Chief radio from an FE/FC. It is in pretty average condition.

I expect that it is an early vibrator driven radio as opposed to the transistor type. Can anyone confirm that what I have found is what I think it is?

Does anyone have the schematics for such a radio that I could use to try and bring it back to life? I have no experience with radios at all so thought this would be a great opportunity to learn some new skills while I try to pring her back to life. I know that I can purchase a repro fascia and radio dial face so the cosmetics can be done pretty quickly. If I can bring her back to life it would be great -  if not I have a bluetooth AM/FM receiver that I can transplant into the back as a last resort.

Thansk in advance for your advice. Cheers

Cheers n Beers

Jolls
Errol62
Guru

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2024, 07:29:39 PM »

The Qld. fb ek club president Greg Bell, is a retired avionics engineer and plays with this sort of thing. I would say it is a valve job almost certainly, given the size and vintage, by appearance. I know FB EK were a hybrid, using both valves and transistors. If you don’t have any luck otherwise on here I can put you in touch with him.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
ardiesse
nsw-club
Guru

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2024, 07:56:26 PM »

Craig,