FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
January 20, 2022, 06:08:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 41   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Heart Transplant - adding 172ci  (Read 369950 times)
michaeljohn1234m
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #180 on: February 10, 2013, 10:06:32 PM »
0

looking good nes, it's great to get the some time to work on the cars , who is the engineer your using, as i'm still looking for one
Logged
NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #181 on: February 16, 2013, 03:44:24 PM »
0

Well I've been playing with the mockup kit from Vintage and a little cutting help it slide up the middle and I keep the stereo. Loose the 6x9 speaker though and just enough clearance for wiper arms. Just make out the black plastic at the base of the dash and the vintage air badge through the grill
Logged

NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #182 on: February 16, 2013, 03:50:40 PM »
0

Had the steering mounts knocked up and the engineer wanted them 8mm thick!!
Still need the holes drilled obviously but it leaves a nice hole for my sump and sits in front of the gearbox nicely


All the wiring in the car weighs 15kg!
Logged

JB
Moderator
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE
Posts: 1914



Jason Blanchard
View Profile
« Reply #183 on: February 16, 2013, 04:40:15 PM »
0

Wiring.... hahahahahahahah
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Have fun Nes I will be thinking of ya!!
Logged

Phone +64 223509263
FCRB26
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE and FC
Posts: 3800


peter.mallaby
View Profile
« Reply #184 on: February 16, 2013, 06:05:09 PM »
0

8mm thick thats bull.

My pat gardener one has 3mm mild and my front mount rack had 3mm as well... seems overkill.

Must be Athol..
Logged

NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #185 on: February 16, 2013, 08:55:05 PM »
0

8mm thick thats bull.

My pat gardener one has 3mm mild and my front mount rack had 3mm as well... seems overkill.

Must be Athol..
Actually no. Athol is charging $140 to inspect EACH stage of welding where as this engineer is happy with liaising and photo evidence and one price upon final inspection.
Collins engineering Taree is who I have been dealing with. They seem very friendly and keen to help. Although I have been going to them with everything pretty much good to go thanks to McBean (again...)
Logged

NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #186 on: March 02, 2013, 05:48:16 PM »
0

Doing some wiring while its raining pick handles out side. Interesting what Holden do, the solar panel (seen on the paper) if removed I lose the ability to use the remote on the key i.e. I lose central locking


I am removing all the abs srs and aircon wiring to reduce the amount I need to hide under the dash.
These are just the ones that plug into the abs module in the engine bay
Logged

Old_Mt_Isa_Boy
qld-club
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 944



View Profile
« Reply #187 on: March 02, 2013, 06:35:26 PM »
0

I dont envy you with the wiring. I missed the brackets for the rack. They look the part. Keep going mate.

Regards

Wayne b
Logged
JB
Moderator
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE
Posts: 1914



Jason Blanchard
View Profile
« Reply #188 on: March 02, 2013, 07:44:35 PM »
0

So my question is... Where are you going to put the solar panel? Lol
I still haven't decided.
Logged

Phone +64 223509263
NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #189 on: March 02, 2013, 08:42:05 PM »
0

So my question is... Where are you going to put the solar panel? Lol
I still haven't decided.

What do you mean Huh you pulled your dash back two inches and have a tonne of room!!!

The thing is the panel is not for any lighting system. When it senses cloud it slows the fan in the aircon down and I am not running the commodore aircon. Trouble is that if I remove it my Central locking key wont work  Angry

Gotta figure out if the ABS/SRS wires are independent of other systems  Roll Eyes

Check your system though JB as your donor car was HSV and mine was an SS you may have OBD2 protocols. I am in old school OBD1 land  Cry
« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 08:47:48 PM by NES304 » Logged

JB
Moderator
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE
Posts: 1914



Jason Blanchard
View Profile
« Reply #190 on: March 02, 2013, 09:08:37 PM »
0

That's the thing... I just straight wired everything in. Except for some of the rear harness.
Keep the central locking... It's easy to install an works great. Then no key issues.
Logged

Phone +64 223509263
NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #191 on: March 02, 2013, 10:29:28 PM »
0

That's the thing... I just straight wired everything in. Except for some of the rear harness.
Keep the central locking... It's easy to install an works great. Then no key issues.
Exactly. I kept all the central locking mechs as well as all the power window motors and wire harness's for the doors!
Logged

NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #192 on: March 05, 2013, 10:22:00 PM »
0

I started planning the wiring and laid it all out. Pulled the door card off to have look at where I can put central locking mech and door wire harness.

Little tip for pulling the clips off the handles.... I used these little metal strips and it comes off in thirty seconds


Found out why panel beaters hate VT's- there is no clip for the harness through the fire wall. So I had to feed it all (the engine bay fuses and lighting wires etc) through the firewall from inside the cabin. I used the area where the clutch master was as there was no real room anywhere else
This is from the inside to the left of the brake pedal assy


Bugger all room beside brake booster but it fits. Going to wrap it properly and point it down to go under the booster later but hey it's a start
Logged

JB
Moderator
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE
Posts: 1914



Jason Blanchard
View Profile
« Reply #193 on: March 06, 2013, 06:15:48 AM »
0

If you look at the servo for the central locking, there are 2 provisions for screws... Theses can be put on from either side. The gap in the door for the door handle to the door latch is where I mounted them for the van. Very easy... Drilled 2 holes and screwed them in. Then with the joiners from a universal central locking kit, I connected it to the original lock/unlock rod. Was pretty simple really.
Cheers
JB
Logged

Phone +64 223509263
NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #194 on: March 06, 2013, 07:04:59 AM »
0

Gotchya JB. Really it's the power window motor that'll be a challenge. Seeing I have winders and holes in the door cards I am not 100% sure I will continue with them.
I removed all the central locking from the VS I had too and marked every one really well. Boof head me forgot to do the same on the VT version and they are different actuators. Infact the VS drivers door was different to the other three and the VT central locking actuators are all the same. At least I spotted the power mirror wires so I know which are from a front door  Roll Eyes
« Last Edit: March 06, 2013, 07:12:20 AM by NES304 » Logged

fcwrangler
nsw-club
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 1247


JIM-- Gilead NSW


Jim Tuckwell
View Profile
« Reply #195 on: March 06, 2013, 04:59:23 PM »
0

You can buy switches that use your winder handles, remove the old winder and the switch goes in it's place, they come with a few different spindles so you can use your old winder handles. Push the handle down 1/4 inch glass goes down -up 1/4 inch glass goes up, I have them set aside to put into the FC when it's time.
Regards Jim
Logged

on the seventh day: God Made Holden
FCRB26
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE and FC
Posts: 3800


peter.mallaby
View Profile
« Reply #196 on: March 06, 2013, 05:20:53 PM »
0

Yeah i have seen them just cant remeber where?
Logged

Old_Mt_Isa_Boy
qld-club
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 944



View Profile
« Reply #197 on: March 06, 2013, 06:48:44 PM »
0

Not sure if there is an Australian supplier.

http://www.a1electric.com/spal.htm

Regards

Wayne b
Logged
NES304
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 2874


Yes Dear


nes304
View Profile
« Reply #198 on: March 06, 2013, 07:29:46 PM »
0

You can buy switches that use your winder handles, remove the old winder and the switch goes in it's place, they come with a few different spindles so you can use your old winder handles. Push the handle down 1/4 inch glass goes down -up 1/4 inch glass goes up, I have them set aside to put into the FC when it's time.
Regards Jim
Hey Wrangler do you have a photo?

Thanks Wayne b. The switches do not look large enough though - food for thought.

As Hoon said the other day, this forum is awsome for this kinda stuff. I would never have known about the switches...
Logged

FCRB26
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE and FC
Posts: 3800


peter.mallaby
View Profile
« Reply #199 on: March 06, 2013, 08:06:05 PM »
0

http://www.lowridermagazine.com/tech/0210lrm_stealth_power_windows/


http://www.mustangmonthly.com/howto/mump_1202_how_to_install_a_stealth_power_window_conversion/viewall.html

Logged

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 41   Go Up
  Add bookmark  |  Print  

Share this topic...
In a forum (BBCode) 
In a site/blog (HTML)

 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.06 seconds with 21 queries.