FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
October 27, 2021, 08:32:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Remote Oil Filter  (Read 3962 times)
Rodger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« on: November 07, 2014, 12:38:14 AM »
0

Hello, I have a remote oil filter on my FC.  I am wondering how much extra oil, if any, I need to run.  Does the dipstick still read true.  I am playing cautious and have an extra 300ml in the system.  Thank you.  PS About to start driving it - registered it today after three years chipping away. 
Logged
zulu
nsw-club
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE and FC
Posts: 1824


Old Boonah Ambo


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2014, 12:44:21 AM »
0

Gday
I have an FE that has been running an external oil filter for years not a daily though
What about putting up some pics of this car
Good to hear it's on the road
Logged
hsv-001
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 909


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2014, 07:46:27 AM »
0

Oil will be retained in the filter canister so top up to full then prime it by turning the pump with large screwdriver attachment on a drill down the dizzy hole .Or just wind it over 'til the oil appears up at the rockers .Then recheck the oil level . Just make sure you have the correct restrictor between the gallery on the block and the filter or all your oil pumps to your top end and you will lose flow to your crank and cam . Haydn
Logged
Fraze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 192


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2014, 06:11:15 PM »
0

Restrictor at the blockfitting??? My filterhas a restriction in the return , very small hole in the centre post in the filter canister which ensures that the canister is at pump pressure at all times.Should there be something else?


.
Logged
Harv
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: other Holden
Posts: 1224


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2014, 07:33:22 PM »
0

This may help:

http://forum.fefcholden.club/index.php?topic=19567.0

Cheers,
Harv
Logged
hsv-001
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 909


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2014, 09:31:54 AM »
0

Yeah, that's it . Haydn
Logged
Rodger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2014, 01:08:13 AM »
0

Thank you, especially the  link to the techno pages on the unit.  Must push through the 'how to' and post a picture or two.
Rodger
Logged
Fraze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 192


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2014, 04:22:03 PM »
0

I have read Harv's article on the remote filters and it is very informative. I am concerned about the restrictor mentioned in another post - Harv's article does mention an external 1.2mm restrictor and all the filter descriptions allude to an external restrictor. My filter does not have a separate restrictor but instead there is a hole in the oil return standpipe inside the filter. It is difficult to measure the size of this hole but it seems to be about 1.5mm or 1/16" inch. This would definitely restrict the flow of oil back to the sump and pressurise the filter canister (and cause back pressure back to the pressure relief valve).
I would really like to have opinions from those who know more than me that what I have will not (I hope) cause oil supply problems inside the engine. Comments please!   Thanks, Frazer.
Logged
Harv
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: other Holden
Posts: 1224


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2014, 05:24:16 PM »
0

G'day Frazer,

Take a look at the bottom of P26 of the Guide. It should show the canister body, with the small outlet hole circled in red. The outlet hole on these is small, but not small enough... this is why a tiny (~3/64) restrictor is used.

If you don't have a restrictor, you can use a gas jet. Take your pipes to a place like Gameco (http://gameco.com.au/) to match up the correct threads. The restrictor can be readily made from the right diameter gas jet (the type of jets that run the hand-held LPG torches you use to solder with).

Cheers,
Harv
Logged
Fraze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 192


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2014, 07:59:08 PM »
0

Thanks for your advice Harv, will do as you suggest. I presume that the restrictor will go in the return line?
Logged
Harv
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: other Holden
Posts: 1224


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2014, 09:07:00 PM »
0

Normally, yes, though it could equally go in the supply line.

cheers,
Harv
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Add bookmark  |  Print  

Share this topic...
In a forum (BBCode) 
In a site/blog (HTML)

 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.068 seconds with 21 queries.