FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
June 20, 2024, 05:39:30 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: FC power steering  (Read 6680 times)
TAZ64

Model: FC

View Profile
« on: July 26, 2016, 09:12:36 AM »

I'm new to the FC world (previously had HQ, HJ and Chevs) and have loads of questions to ask as I progress through my ute.

First one, is there a compatible power steering unit which can be fitted to a FC Ute without too many modifications?

Cheers,
           JT

Brisbane
Errol62
Guru

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2016, 09:48:35 AM »

Don't know of a bolt on solution but EHs had a factory option. Guess they would be rare. All the steering gear is compatible but the actual steering box and column are different. Conversion to power rack and pinion from later commodore would probably be feasible but in this case power steering might be considered an overkill and not worth the effort trying to fit pump etc.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FCRB26
Guru

Model: FE and FC

peter.mallaby
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2016, 12:29:17 PM »

Maybe look at skinnier wheels and a good wheel alignment my FE steering is pretty light ?

Longman

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2016, 01:14:12 PM »

Im not sure if the width is the same for an FC, maybe not, but a mate put a power rack from a R31skyline in his EH without modification.
NES304
Guru

Yes Dear

nes304
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2016, 04:38:26 PM »

Stronger Arms? Hahaha couldn't help myself. Good luck with the search.
I chose not to add power steering to mine as it's still light even with the V8 in it.

TAZ64

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2016, 07:28:57 PM »