FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
June 08, 2024, 11:04:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Are you a member of one of the FE-FC Holden Car Clubs of Australia ? If you are, get access to the Club-Member-only area of this discussion board. Send an IM to the board admin, including your real name and club to get access.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Vehicle ID  (Read 2332 times)
sgo

View Profile WWW
« on: September 29, 2004, 04:58:56 AM »

I've just discovered that my 59 sedan has one number on the plate on the firewall and a different number stamped on the RH inner gaurd in the engine bay.
Does this mean the subframe has been replaced at some stage or is there some other likely explanation?

Blown_FC

FC Holdens & Mini Coopers....Cars of the Century

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2004, 05:45:16 AM »

I'm no expert...but if I'm not mistaken.......the No. on the RH Inner Guard is not on the Compliance Plate...(ie) no way to have matching No's

I think this is because not all cars were built from the factory, as Perth for example just ASSEMBLED the cars from CKD kits....

My car for example was built in adelaide and is the 205th FC made in Adelaide, but it's the 169th FC Assembled in PERTH.

My compliance plate says FC 225-205-A
and the inner guard says 8-1169 P

So your subframe may have been changed, but then again, it may be the original one aswell....there really is no way of telling.

But I'm sure Ken or Ret could explain further or correct me if I'm wrong.

Cheers

Mark
RET
Administrator
Guru

Model: FE

richard.e.thomas ret56fe
View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2004, 06:07:16 AM »

Mark is pretty well spot on.

Neither of the numbers on the vehicle is really the equivalent of a modern vehicle's compliance plate.