FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
March 29, 2024, 03:54:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Grey motor oil leaks  (Read 1410 times)
Wookie66

Model: FC

View Profile
« on: June 26, 2022, 10:46:05 AM »

Hi all
I know the saying is if the grey motor has no oil leaks then there’s no oil but,

As I’m not that experienced with the grey motor I’m not sure what is normal or not.
I have noticed exhaust fumes coming from the area where the small arm /lever is on the manifold it’s coming out of the shaft hole.
Also fumes and a small amount of oil from the spark plug holes in the side cover mainly one and two.

I have all new gaskets in it and now it’s been for a few drives I’ve noticed these issue that weren’t there when it was first run.

So what’s normal and is there anything I can do to stop these issues.
Thanks
Trevor
ardiesse
nsw-club
Guru

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2022, 07:34:03 PM »

Trevor,

I'm guessing the place on the manifolds is the exhaust manifold heat riser valve.  It should have a counterweight at the front, and (when new) a spiral spring at the rear.  Grab onto the shaft both front and rear (with engine cold, otherwise you'll get burnt) and see whether you can rattle the shaft from side to side.  It's supposed to turn, and it can move front-to-back a bit, but side-to-side movement's not good.  Can you hear an exhaust leak anywhere?  Or are there black, sooty deposits?  Locate it (them), and you've found the problem

Were your manifolds been painted at any stage?  The paint will burn off the exhaust manifold and make smoke.