FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
September 24, 2018, 02:35:25 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Congrats to FCGos (Wayne Gosling) on winning the Forum's 2017 NRL Tipping Comp.
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Sound Systems  (Read 279 times)
DJ
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 1287



View Profile
« on: September 09, 2018, 02:22:55 PM »
0

Looking at speakers, head units & amps with plans to instal a system in an FC sedan with original wiring. The wiring kit suggested for the amp comes with cable to connect direct to the batt. What I have in mind is a modest system but the size of the fuse & this cable is frightening. I'm now wondering if it's really as simple as the diagram indicates, or if I need to upgrading anything else to accommodate a modern sound system.
Any advice/warnings appreciated.
Logged

Dave
0417 270 315
JOX515
vic-club
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 654



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2018, 02:41:35 PM »
0

G'day DJ,

It is as simple as it looks BUT make sure your battery is a really good one. I will take a pic of how JB attached his amp to the battery to give you an idea. Yes, I am still babysitting JB's ute  Grin

Cheers, Graeme
Logged
DJ
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 1287



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2018, 03:30:12 PM »
0

That will be good thanks Graeme. I have a good H/D battery. Can't get over the size of this cable & fuse.
Logged

Dave
0417 270 315
JOX515
vic-club
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 654



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2018, 04:02:43 PM »
0




The big red cable is for the amp and is screwed directly to the battery post....
Logged
DJ
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 1287



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2018, 04:48:22 PM »
0

Unreal, thanks Graeme.
Logged

Dave
0417 270 315
JOX515
vic-club
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 654



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2018, 05:17:35 PM »
0

And it is a really good idea to have the battery on a trickle charger when the car is not in use as the amp can be power hungry......
Logged
ardiesse
nsw-club
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 446



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2018, 11:31:41 PM »
0

The 60 A fuse on the main unit should be warning enough . . .
If your electrical system is original, be aware that your generator will only be able to supply 20 A max.
Too much doof-doof on a wet night in traffic, your battery will go flat, and your generator will expire.
If you plan on cranking the volume up for extended periods, then you'll need an alternator which can supply the current - at least 50 A would be my guess.

Rob
Logged

Remember: if your Holden's not leaking oil, it doesn't have any.
Errol62
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2018, 06:42:13 AM »
0

Or an Aircheif. 6A rather than 60. 😁


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
DJ
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 1287



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2018, 01:15:57 PM »
0

The Aircheif I have is looking better all the time.
Yes, the monster fuse did attract my attention & the load on the generator is exactly the sort of thing I wondered about. Thanks. I planned for a simple stereo arrangement without anything booming in the back. I'm a bit deaf but I don't need a powerful set up. I'll look into what's involved in fitting an alternator next.
Logged

Dave
0417 270 315
freddyc
qld-club
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 616



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2018, 03:14:29 PM »
+1

You can buy alternators that look like original generators. A mate has one in his EK. As for your cabling my amp cable is a fat as my thumb and match earth side to that as well.
fred
Logged

Townsville North Queensland
DJ
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 1287



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2018, 04:47:40 PM »
0

That sounds like something worth looking into, thanks Fred. The cable I have is around the same size, huge.
Logged

Dave
0417 270 315
RET
Administrator
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FE
Posts: 5622



richard.e.thomas ret56fe
View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2018, 08:47:31 PM »
0

The mellifluous tones of the ABC through valve powered amplification to a single speaker should be enough for any man. Let us speak no more of this 60 amp fuse witchcraft.
Logged

OurCarClub.com.au is a web-based data management application, custom built for car clubs and their volunteer officials. More info...
Errol62
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2018, 09:20:32 PM »
0

Rusted on to radio national 729kHz


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Logged
DJ
Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 1287



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2018, 05:57:36 PM »
0

Let us speak no more of this 60 amp fuse witchcraft.

Yes, imagine trying to comprehend such a thing for a radio in the 50s.
Logged

Dave
0417 270 315
ardiesse
nsw-club
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Model: FC
Posts: 446



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2018, 06:12:35 PM »
+1

At work there's a photo of a CSIRO-prototype police radar from the early 1950s.  It took up the entire boot of a Plymouth, with most of the space being taken by a motor-generator set and a rank of 6-V car batteries.  I bet it would have drawn some serious current from the batteries once the klystrons were up to their couple of thousand volts . . .

Rob
Logged

Remember: if your Holden's not leaking oil, it doesn't have any.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Add bookmark  |  Print  

Share this topic...
In a forum (BBCode) 
In a site/blog (HTML)

 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.09 seconds with 20 queries.