FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
March 28, 2024, 10:17:04 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Where to Start?  (Read 3575 times)
Rocket060

View Profile
« on: March 11, 2018, 11:06:09 AM »

Hi All

I'm a newbie to this forum and looking for some direction.  I'm recently retired and looking for a project / hobby and decided on getting a FC.

While I'm searching for a car I 'm starting to set my garage up.  What tools are considered essential apart from the usual spanners & screw drivers.?

I haven't played around with cars for over 40 years but I'm familiar with basic mechanics and electricals. Bodywork, not so much.  Any suggestions where can I go to learn how to cut out rust, weld & paint.

Any other tips to get started would be appreciated.

Rod
Billy Blackarrow

Model: other Holden

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2018, 11:52:33 AM »

Hi Rod
     I went to tafe here in Newcastle  to learn to weld but I enrolled in a general welding coarse but should have enrolled in a body building coarse however the teachers took pitty on me and my age a realised that I was doing up a car and showed me how to weld thin metal and set tasks especially for me. ( still can't weld very well )

BILLY BLACKARROW
VAN059

Model: FC

Brisbane, QLD.

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2018, 11:54:09 AM »

Welcome aboard Rocket,

Google is always good for viewing how things should, and shouldn't be done.

But I've found this forum to be the best source of knowledge, inspiration and assistance you could ever ask for.

Cheers
Marc

Smokin Words and Shoutin Turds
Rocket060

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2018, 12:21:21 PM »

Hi Rod