FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
July 07, 2024, 08:25:59 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Battery & Gen. testing  (Read 3033 times)
Philby
act-club

View Profile
« on: November 21, 2006, 11:49:58 PM »

Hi All,

I’m after a bit of guidance on how to test my electrical system mainly around the generator.  

The current battery has an unknown history but doesn’t fully charge and I need to jump the car more often than not, so I think it’s stuffed.  I’ll replace it as soon as I’ve done some tinkering around to find out whether or not I have a generator/wiring issue.

Basically I’m wondering what to do once I get one of those voltometer thingy’s?  I’m no electrician but willing to learn.  

I don’t want to do any major stuff, just see if the correct current is running in/our of the generator to the battery and maybe check other small things.

Cheers,

Phil
Maco
nsw-club

Model: FC

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2006, 11:53:20 PM »

Hi Phil,

All the info you require is in the workshop manual.

Cheers
John

Better in Green
Philby
act-club

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2006, 12:12:43 AM »

Cheers John,

I was hoping to hear from anyone with hints, tips, shortcuts, or as the trusty sales assistant at a big auto shop franchise suggested, “just take it to an auto electrician”.

Often the info the guys here give is better explained and much more helpful than the workshop manual.  Worst comes to worst, I’ll take the manual, thick rubber gloves and the voltometer thingy, and see how I go.

Cheers again,

Phil
RET
Administrator
Guru

Model: FE

richard.e.thomas ret56fe
View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2006, 02:52:55 AM »