FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
June 07, 2024, 10:39:13 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: LH Torana front end/161 motor  (Read 4388 times)
JimmyMac01
« on: February 25, 2004, 12:28:35 PM »

Hi - just joined after buying a Special with LH front end and 161 engine fitted.  I hear that I need some work to get the steering right to be able to register the car in Qld?  Does anyone know about this? I am a novice but am looking forward to restoring the rest of the car to original unless I get carried away with other mods.

Thanks
Jimmy
Ed
Guru

Model: FE

Ed74mnd
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2004, 12:34:07 AM »

Hey Jimmy,

u've come to the right place for help.

Ive only seen a Torana front end in one car. (HD ute).

the x-member bolts didnt match HR, and therefore it was a "Cheat" to make it fit.. long bolts and steel plates arent too pretty (IMHO).

Did u mean entire x-member (LH) or just steering mounted to HR x-member?

Is ur car running the LH rack and pinion?  I'm assuming it must, otherwise there isnt much benefit besides the disc brakes, which is easier to do using HR front.

Does your car steer at the moment?  what column are you using?

Sorry to answer your question with a question.

Cheers

Ed

in the shed
JimmyMac

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2004, 08:57:39 AM »

Ed  (JimmyMac01 as guest is now JimmyMac as member)