FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
May 05, 2024, 10:28:44 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Fuel Gauge - odd readings  (Read 2316 times)
Jolls
nsw-club

Model: FC

View Profile
« on: October 16, 2023, 08:55:41 PM »

Hi Team,

Just started the restoration of my FC Ute and my evening tasks include cleaning and testing all of the electrical components. I'm a sparky by trade so understand the DC fundamentals but lack depth on the instrumentation side of things.

Any way I have pulled and cleaned the fuel gauge and searched the forum to find the supporting onformation needed to test the gauge. In short positive to the threaded side of the unit, via a resistance to replicate the sender, and the bullet style termination to earth. The resitance values I have replicated is 0 ohms - empty; 15 ohms half a tank and 30 ohms full tank.

The readings I am getting are quite odd. O ohms - Empty but as the ristance goes up the needle indicates "more empty" until I get to 150 ohms where there is no needle deflection (up agianst a hard stop I expect). So instead of the needle moving from empty to full it continues to move left as I step up the resistance.

Thought I would reverse the polarity to see if that made a difference - no discernable change so it is definitley not a polarity issue.

Wiring and coils look good - thoughts on where to look next?

Cheers
Jolls

Cheers n Beers

Jolls
Errol62
Guru

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2023, 09:56:24 PM »

It is usually the sender at fault and not hard to understand why. RDS will be on here in due course and sort you out.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Dr_Terry

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile