FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
May 11, 2024, 05:20:24 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Fitting a headlining to an FC  (Read 11917 times)
sharpeidog

Model: FC

View Profile
« on: January 07, 2011, 03:37:12 PM »

G'day all.

Newbie here, first post, by all means tune me in if I get it wrong......

I have an FC project on the go and looking for advice on fitting a new headlining. Can it be done by a novice, i.e. me? Anything to look or watch out for? Seems you can buy a lining easily enough, can anyone advise what they think a fair price should be to have one fitted on site? Can anyone recommend/suggest a trimmer near the Mornington Peninsula who might be worth sussing out?

Cheers......
mcl1959
vic-club
Guru

FE's rule

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 09:25:17 PM »
+1

First - read the manual - it gives invaluable information on how to straighten the side clips out and generally how to do the install.
If you are fitting a new lining it is very important to get the clips straight.
You start in the centre with the short bows and work forwards then backwards.
The front is relatively easy but needs some heat with a hair dryer near the visor screws.
Use lots of clamps around the screen opening and then glue so it is even.
The back is harder because it needs more heat and stretching down the pillars.

Ken
sharpeidog

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2011, 08:36:46 PM »

Thanks Ken,