FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
May 21, 2024, 05:27:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: mOUNTING OF SEAT BELTS  (Read 16473 times)
smithy
Guru

yeah its purple !

View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: March 05, 2008, 10:02:01 PM »

while it is proven true that seat belts and crumple zones in newer cars have reduced the amount of fatalities and serious injuries in accidents i believe there are some truths to what ratbox has said.
up until a few years ago i was a cameraman then stills photographer with several metro and regional tv stations and newspapers for well over 20 years. as part of out duties we were required to attend and cover fatalities or serious motor accidents sometimes even at the request of emergency services when police scientific units were not availible. in all this time i have seen some prangs were it would appear no-one would ever live only to see the occupants standing on the side of the road in shock but very much alive and others where mulitple occupants have been killed horribly from what looked like a minor accident. it has always been my belief after witnessing this carnage for years that when your number is up thats it, no amount of safety equipment will stop it. thats life.

BUT if you happen to be hit by or hit a car whose driver's number is up then a seat belt will certainly help to reduce the llikelyhood of you joining him.
in the end i guess it is up to the individual and their mentality to wear a belt but for those who dont spare a thought for the fire and ambo officers who have to remove your face from the windscreen and the others it affects.

it only take 5 seconds to put on your belt but years to learn to walk again! (if your lucky)