FE-FC Holden Discussion Forum
May 06, 2024, 04:49:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The FE-FC Holden Car Club of NSW are proud to host the 19th FE-FC Holden Nationals. Check out the announcement video for more.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: 3speed to 4speed?? is it worth it?  (Read 3729 times)
fc_special

working on getting my fc pic here

View Profile
« on: February 22, 2004, 07:50:11 AM »

Hi everyone...driving to the city the other day i felt like the 138 needed a fourth gear..Will i lose alot of value to the car if i put a 4speed gearbox in??.The gearshift is already on the floor...i have been told a toyota 4 speed would suit best is this right??
robbzfc58
Guru

Gone but not forgotten.

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2004, 08:25:16 AM »

hi there   im no expert so my opinion may be worth nothing..but the ratio in top gear on 3 or 4 speed is the same..so nothing would be gained if you were looking  for taller gearing.   if you went to 5 speed toyota ,you'd have the ultimate but you would rarely use 5th gear because its an overdrive..the car would struggle on hills.     personally  i think the phillipino 4sp boxes from uc toranas & early commodores(4&6 cylinder cars had same box) are  nicer than the aussiebox& cheaper..my boys have thrashed em & never killed em!! but top gear ratio is still the same
 to fit a toyota 4 or 5 spd would be fairly costly          so  i suggest ya leave it as it is unless you need to replace it for mechanical reasons
          cheers trev
« Last Edit: February 22, 2004, 02:03:00 PM by robbzfc58 » Logged

robbzfc58
RIP Trevor Robb: a good mate to all on the FE-FC Forum
nicko
Guru

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2004, 12:58:41 PM »

why not change to a taller diff ratio,that way you dont need any mods

oldgmh

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile